Quantcast

YCQM - Year in review - Jan. 1, 2012 - WCAX.COM Local Vermont News, Weather and Sports-

YCQM - Year in review - Jan. 1, 2012

January 1, 2012 -- 2011: Year in Review

>> GOOD MORNING, AND THANKS FOR JOINING US FOR "YOU CAN QUOTE ME". THESE ARE THE BIGGEST STORIES OF THE YEAR.

>> I LOOK BACK AND KNOW WITH ALL CERTAINTY THAT OUR STATE AS A PEOPLE HAVE BEEN MOST WORTHY OF OUR LIFE'S WORK.

>> THE OFFICE OF GOVERNOR FOR THE STATE OF VERMONT.

>> I JUST LOOKED AT WHAT I HAD COMING UP FOR EXPENSES, WHAT MONEY WAS COMING IN, AND THERE WASN'T ENOUGH TO COVER EVERYTHING.

>> OUR ECONOMIC CHALLENGES ARE REAL. THERE IS NO EASY OR POPULAR PATH.

>> THE GOVERNOR ANNOUNCED A YEAR-LONG STATE HIRING FREEZE. BUT JUST A MONTH AFTER CALLING FOR THE FREEZE, IT'S OVER.

>> THE CONCEPT HAS EVOLVED SOMEWHAT FROM WHAT WE FIRST PROPOSED IT.

>> ELIMINATING ALL THOUGHT OF WATER FOR STATE EMPLOYEES. THE ADMINISTRATION IS BACKING DOWN, POSTPONING A CHANGE INDEFINITELY.

>> BEING ABLE TO USE MULTIPLE LANES AT ONE TIME.

>> IT'S A GREAT FAMILY EVENT, TO INTRODUCE KIDS TO AVIATION.

>> THE NEW SHAM PLAIN BRIDGE OPENED TO CONSIDERABLE FANFARE.

>> THE HOCKEY TEAM RETURNING TODAY AFTER WINNING THE DIVISION-III CHAMPIONSHIP.

>> IT'S THE WIND.

>> IT WAS A LITTLE COLD THIS MORNING.

>> MINUS 35 WAS MORE THAN I THOUGHT WE NEEDED. >>

>> [ SQUEALING ]

>> IT GIVES THEM THE OPPORTUNITY TO BE WITH OTHER DEAF KIDS. >>

>> AN INTENSE THUNDERSTORM, WATER WAS JUMPING THE ROADS, CALVERTS WERE CLOGGED.

>> SO MUCH WATER WITH NO PLACE TO GO. SEVERE THUNDERSTORMS STARTED IT ALL OVERNIGHT.

>> PEOPLE THAT WERE STRANDED IN THEIR HOUSES AND COULDN'T GET OUT.

>> ROUTE 2, UNDER WATER.

>> ABOUT 11:30 AT NIGHT, THE WATER GOT RUSHING LIKE A RIVER.

>> [ SIREN ]

>> SLIPPED AND WENT DOWN UNDERNEATH THE DAM.

>> WE'VE GONE FROM RESCUE TO RECOVERY.

>> AND SHOVEL UP THE MESS.

>> A LOT OF SHOCK, A LOT OF PAIN.

>> THE INVENTORY DOWN HERE, I KNOW WE HAVE TENS OF THOUSANDS OF DOLLARS WORTH OF DAMAGE.

>> THESE SPREADS ARE READY FOR SEED, BUT RECENT RAIN HAS IT LOOKING MORE LIKE SWAMPLAND AND SET FARMERS BACK ALMOST AN ENTIRE MONTH.

>> DEVASTATION.

>> GREW UP HERE AS CHILDREN. YOU HATE TO LEAVE IT.

>> NO, WE DO NOT HAVE FLOOD INSURANCE.

>> I ALSO DON'T THINK THAT MOST OF MY NEIGHBORS DO.

>> THE BIKE PATH HAS SEEN BETTER DAYS.

>> WHAT'S KILLING US RIGHT NOW IS THE WIND.

>> IT'S NOT GETTING ANY BETTER. IT'S GETTING WORSE.

>> SOUTHERN WINDS ARE CAUSING THE WATERS TO CRASH INTO THE LAUREL NEIGHBORHOOD.

>> WE'RE FIGHTING A TOUGH BATTLE HERE. I THINK EVERYONE IS KEEPING A STIFF UPPER LIP.

>> CREWS WORK IN TEAMS TO DETERMINE WHAT'S NEXT FOR HOMEOWNERS. BUSINESSES ALONG THE LAKE ARE TRYING TO FIGURE OUT WHAT RECORD AMOUNT OF WATER WILL MEAN.

>> WHAT THEY LOVE EVEN MORE THAN BEING BRUSHED IS BEING BLOWN DRY.

>> DO YOU NEED A DOG PARK TO PLAY IN? MAGGIE, DO YOU NEED A DOG PARK TO PLAY?

>> [ BARKING ]

>> IT MAY SOUND LOONY. THIS IS A HUB OF ACTIVITY.

>> THEY ARE WASHED OFF AND SHINED UP WITH SOME SHOW SHEEN, AND, OF COURSE, A BRUSHDOWN.

>> IS THAT NAIL POLISH?

>> YES.

>> EASY. EASY. WHOA! AND IT'S MAYHEM! THEY RUN INTO THE ROAD!

>> A CONTROVERSIAL WAY A COMMUNITY IS TRYING TO CLEAN UP FECES.

>> PROSECUTORS SAY 42-YEAR-OLD NANCY STOLE NEARLY A QUARTER OF A MILLION DOLLARS WORTH OF FUEL.

>> CROSSED AND LEFT THE CENTER AND STRUCK THE MOTORCYCLE.

>> A BURLINGTON WOMAN IS GOING TO JAIL FOR DRIVING DRUNK WITH HER TWO KIDS IN THE CAR.

>> [ CHANTING ]

>> DESPITE THEIR AGE, THE CHORUS GROUP HAS TOURED ALL OVER THE WORLD, PERFORMING MUSIC FROM ALL DIFFERENT GENRES.

>> [ LAUGHTER ] IT'S MY BIRTHDAY.

>> HOW OLD ARE YOU GOING TO BE?

>> 90.

>> HE IS 18 X 5. HIS WAY OF TESTING THE KIDS' MATH ABILITIES. TODAY I HAVE THE PLEASURE OF TAKING MRS. BROWN TO WORK.

>> WE ALL IN?

>> AND LIKE SO MANY OF HIS GENERATION, HE EXPERIENCED WORLD WAR II AS A MERCHANT MARINE.

>> HOW LONG HAVE YOU TWO BEEN MARRIED?

>> IT'S A LOVE AFFAIR WITH AGRICULTURE.

>> NEARLY 1800 GRADUATES AND UNDERGRADUATES GAVE MR. BUSH A STANDING OVATION. THEY HONORED HIM ON HIS 87TH BIRTHDAY.

>> FOR WOMEN, LEADING AT THE STATEHOUSE BY EXAMPLE.

>> IT'S BEEN ABOVE AVERAGE.

>> IT'S THE ABUNDANCE OF SNOWFALL THIS YEAR THAT IS ALLOWING FOR THE EXTENDED SPRING SEASON.

>> THE TREE TURNS BRIGHT RED IN THE FALL DUE TO LOW TEMPERATURES.

>> PRETTY NICE, HUH?

>> PHOTOGRAPHER BOB DAVIS AND I STOPPED AT THE POND. YOU CAN STILL SEE THE FALL COLOR THROUGH THE CLOUDS.

>> HE DIED FOR OUR COUNTRY. HE DIED FOR US. AND THIS IS JUST A SMALL PART OF SAYING THANK YOU.

>> THE LEAD LAWYER CLAIMED THAT SAFETY AT THE NUCLEAR POWER PLANT IS AT THE CORE OF THE COMPANY'S CASE, A MATTER SHE SAYS THAT CAN ONLY BE REGULATED BY THE NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION.

>> LET US BE LIKE EVERYONE ELSE.

>> A DEFINITION OF A MARRIAGE IS A MAN AND A WOMAN.

>> SHE SCREAMED "BRENDA!"

>> ALL I COULD HEAR WAS SOMEBODY YELLING "BRENDA!" NOT A GOOD THANKSGIVING.

>> 22-YEAR-OLD TOREY O'NEILL.

>> WHEN I WENT TO TRY TO GET HER HELP, I COULDN'T GO ANY MORE WITH THE FLAMES AND THE SMOKE.

>> Reporter: THERE WAS EXTENSIVE DAMAGE.

>> THE ORIGIN AND EXACT CAUSE ARE NOT BEING RELEASED.

>> IT'S STRAIGHT UP FROM HERE.

>> WE WENT TO ABOUT 17,000 FEET IN ABOUT 45 SECONDS.

>> THIS IS A NEW TELECASTER THAT PEARL JAM SENT OUT.

>> WHAT WOULD YOU THINK ABOUT THIS?

>> I THINK HE WOULD SHARE MY SENTIMENT, JUST THE POWER OF POSITIVITY, I GUESS.

>> LEACHMAN'S IDEA OF A HUG --

>> I LIKE THE CHEEK TOUCH.

>> SO DO I.

>> -- WRAPS YOU AROUND THE WHOLE PERSON.

>> LELAND WOULD BE PROUD OF THIS CAR RIGHT HERE! THAT'S A VERMONT CADILLAC.

>> CADILLAC CREATOR LELAND FOUNDED THIS TOWN. THE CADILLACS ARE ON PARADE, SETTING A RECORD.

>> AS ROOKIE ON THE PGA TOUR, KEEGAN BRADLEY IS HAVING A SEASON THAT WOULD MAKE MOST VETERANS JEALOUS.

>> [ SINGING ]

>> I DESCRIBE THEM AS MACABRE AND CREEPY CREATURES.

>> FORWARD.

>> OH! [ LAUGHTER ]

>> THAT'S WHY THEY CALL IT THE SINGING BRIDGE. >>

>> AS OF TODAY, HIS LOCATION IS UNKNOWN.

>> WE BELIEVE THAT MORE THAN ONE INDIVIDUAL IS RESPONSIBLE FOR THIS CRIME.

>> WE ARE THE 99%!

>> WE'RE BAFFLED.

>> CHAOS IN BURLINGTON CITY HALL PARK.

>> WE ARE THE 99%!

>> FOR SOMEONE TO BE ARRESTED WHEN YOU DON'T KNOW WHY THEY'RE ARRESTED --

>> POCK " -- "OCCUPY"ERS IN BURLINGTON PARK.

>> TIMOTHY DOWD STRUCK HER VEHICLE DURING PURSUIT INTO DOWNTOWN.

>> THIS GUY DROVE DRUNK, LEADING THE POLICE, AND KILL THIS BEAUTIFUL YOUNG WOMAN.

>> HE WAS TOUCHED BY THE COMFORT OFFERED BY HER CO-WORKERS.

>> IN ORDER TO GET THEM TO CHANGE THE DUI LAWS, WE HAD TO KEEP COMING BACK.

>> THEY CHANGED THE LAW.

>> THE 12-YEAR-OLD TRAGICALLY DROWNED. LITTLE LEAGUERS FILLED THE SEATS.

>> WE'RE JUST HOPING AND PRAYING SHE COMES BACK SAFELY UNHARMED.

>> WE HAVE BROUGHT HER HOME, NOT THE WAY WE WANTED TO.

>> THE VICTIMS WERE IDENTIFIED.

>> WILDLIFE RELEASED THIS PHOTO. BUT IT ISN'T PETE. THAT'S NOT HIS EAR TAG.

>> I KNOW THOSE LIKE I KNOW MY WIFE.

>> WE SAID WE WILL TAKE CARE OF PETE, AND A FEW WEEKS LATER, JEEZE, PETE DIED!

>> I WAS AS SURPRISED AS ANYBODY TO FIND OUT TODAY THAT PETE HAD DIED, BELIEVE ME.

>> CONGRESS MAINTAINED COMPOSURE AS THE JURORS RETURNED A VERDICT OF GUILTY.

>> AFTER A SURVEY ABOUT RAPE, SYGMAIFY EPSILON IS CLOSING THE FRATERNITY AT UVM.

>> ALTHOUGH THIS FIREPLACE MAY LOOK HAPHAZARD, IT'S FAR FROM IT. >>

>> ABOUT A QUARTER MILE LONG. EVERY QUARTER MILE, YOU'RE GOING TO HAVE TO WELD THE TWO RAILS INTO PLACE.

>> RIDICULOUS, PREPOSTEROUS, SOUTHERN BARBECUE, HONEY MUSTARD. TERIYAKI. WHO DOESN'T LIKE A CHICKEN WING. YOU KNOW WHAT I MEAN?

>> THEY MAKE WAY FOR A NEW BUILDING.

>> HURRICANE IRENE HAS HIT OUR REGION WITH A VENGEANCE.

>> THERE IS RAGING WATER. CLOVER STREET WAS THE FIRST STREET IN RUTLAND TO FLOOD.

>> THE WATER IS COMING SO FAST THAT IT'S JUST RISING UP, AND THE CULVERTS AND BRIDGES CAN'T HANDLE IT.

>> IT'S FLOODED ALL THE WAY FROM HERE TO THE MASS LINE.

>> WE HAVE FLASH FLOODING ACROSS THE STATE, POWER OUTAGES, AND NOW AT LEAST ONE PERSON IS REPORTED MISSING, SWEPT AWAY BY FLOOD WATERS. SEVERAL COMMUNITIES ARE FLOODED. THEY'RE UNDERWATER.

>> IN WEATHERFIELD, YOU CAN ACTUALLY FIELD THE MUD UNDER YOUR FEET GIVING WAY AS THE WATER CONTINUES TO JUST RUSH DOWN THIS ROAD.

>> THE RIVER RUSHING.

>> EVERYTHING YOU COULD IMAGINE IS GOING DOWN THE RIVER NOW. YOU HAVE THE BARRELS, CARS AND TRUCKS THAT ARE FLOATING DOWN.

>> ALL MY BELONGINGS ARE DOWN IN THE MIDDLE THERE.

>> AND SEVERAL PARTS OF HURRICANE ROAD WERE WASHED AWAY BY HUR KEEN IRENE.

>> -- HURRICANE IRENE. >>

>> THE BANK GAVE WAY, AND THEY WERE SWEPT AWAY.

>> HIS BODY WAS RECOVERED. OFFICIALS ARE STILL ON THE HUNT FOR HIS SON.

>> THIS IS SIMPLY A MONUMENTAL TRAGEDY.

>> THE DEVASTATION IS JUST TOO MUCH FOR SOME.

>> UP, DOWN, OVER, AROUND, AND EVERY TIME YOU GO SOMEPLACE, A BRIDGE IS OUT. THERE'S NOTHING!

>> Reporter: RESIDENTS ARE USING THE LAST REMAINING FOOD IN THE SCHOOL BECAUSE THEY DON'T HAVE A GENERATOR, THEN IT'S ON TO TOWN MEETINGS TO FIGURE OUT WHAT THIS COMMUNITY IS GOING TO DO.

>> MY MEDICATION WILL BE SHORT IN A COUPLE OF DAYS.

>> THE RIVER ROSE 21 FEET OVER ITS BANKS, SHATTERING THE OLD RECORD OF 15 FEET.

>> THE DAIRY COWS ARE STILL ON EDGE. SEVERAL WERE SWEPT DONE THE WHITE RIVER, AND OTHERS DROWNED WHEN IRENE HIT.

>> WHERE DO WE GO? DO WE JUST THROW OUR HANDS UP IN THE AIR? WE CAN'T. THIS IS OUR LIFE!

>> Reporter: MORE THAN 120 NATIONAL GUARDSMEN ARE HERE HELPING TO FILL IN THE PITS, BUT IT'S GOING TO TAKE MORE THAN 7,000 TRUCKS OF FILL BEFORE IT'S PASSABLE ONCE AGAIN.

>> THIS THREE-QUARTER-MILE STRETCH OF THE ROAD WAS DESTROYED. YOU HAVE TO TAKE ROUTE 7, ROUTE 103, THEN GET ON TO INTERSTATE 89 UNTIL THE WOODSTOCK EXIT WHICH BRINGS YOU BACK TO ROUTE 4.

>> Reporter: THE GUARD UNITS WITH ROAD SIGNS AS A KEEPSAKE, WITH NUMBERS REPRESENTING THEIR INDIVIDUAL GUARD YUN SNITS WE JUST WANT TO EXPRESS OUR HEARTFELT THANKS.

>> Reporter: INTERSTATE 89 NOW HAS AN IMPROVIZED RAMP. IT'S CALLED 2-B, THE HILLBILLY HIGHWAY.

>> THIS IS JUST SO THE LOCALS CAN GET OFF THE MOUNTAIN.

>> Reporter: THESE COMMUNITIES ARE CUT OFF.

>> IT TOOK ALL DAY YESTERDAY UNTIL 3:00 THIS MORNING. >>

>> Reporter: WHEN TROPICAL STORM IRENE RIPS THROUGH THE WOODLAWN CEMETERY IN ROCHESTER, IT WIPED OUT THE REMAINS OF DARLENE THOMPSON'S FAMILY.

>> IT'S NOT FAIR. HER GRANDMOTHER WAS FOUND ON THE ROCHESTER GOLF COURSE WEEKS LATER, AND THE OTHERS ARE STILL MISSING. >>

>> THE WEATHER'S NICE.

>> Reporter: BUT BEING POSITIVE DOESN'T NECESSARILY TRANSLATE INTO SUCCESS.

>> AWESOME!

>> LIKE A LUGE RUN.

>> Reporter: IT'S LIKE OUTHOUSE RACES.

>> PEOPLE GET LOST IN THERE, COULDN'T FIND THEIR WAY OUT.

>> THE BALLS OF YOUR FEET.

>> Reporter: THERE IS A DEAL ON HEALTHCARE REFORM.

>> SO MANY PIECES THAT WE NEED TO KEEP TRACK OF.

>> I'M HERE TO TELL YOU THAT I AM RUNNING FOR GOVERNOR OF STATE OF VERMONT. >>

>> SOME PRETTY AMAZING STORIES THERE. STAY WITH US. UP 2011 will be forever remembered as the year Irene ravaged

>> 2011 WILL BE FOREVER REMEMBERED AS THE YEAR IRENE RAVAGED HAVE THE. WE PUT TOGETHER THESE SIGHTS AND SOUNDS FROM THE STORM.

>> MY LIFE FLOWS ON IN ENDLESS SONG WITH LAMENTATION. I HEAR THE...

>> WE HAVE AN UPDATE ON IRENE'S DEVASTATION. WE HAVE FLASH FLOODING ACROSS THE STATE, MANY COMMUNITIES IN SOUTHERN VERMONT ARE FLOODED RIGHT NOW. BRATTLEBORO, WILMINGTON, AND BENNINGTON ARE UNDERWATER.

>> Reporter: THIS IS WATER STREET. HOURS OF TORRENTIAL DOWNPOURS.

>> Reporter: IN THE LAST 15 MINUTES, THE RIVER HAS JUST JUMPED ITS BANKS.

>> THE RIVER IS COMING UP FAST AND QUICKLY.

>> THIS WASN'T THE WAY I SAW IT AT ITS WORST IN MAY, AND WE'RE ONLY AT THE BEGINNING. I UNDERSTAND IT'S GOING TO CREST MANY HOURS FROM NOW.

>> KNOWING THIS AREA AND THE RIVER'S CAPACITY TO CHANGE QUICKLY, WE DECIDED TO DECLARE PERSONNEL DOWN HERE.

>> EVERYTHING YOU COULD IMAGINE.

>> ALL MY BELONGINGS ARE DOWN THERE.

>> WE KNEW THAT WAS IT.

>> THE DEATH TOLL RISING.

>> FIVE PEOPLE ARE CONFIRMED DEAD, AT LEAST ONE PERSON IS STILL MISSING.

>> WE ARE EXPERIENCING SOMETHING THAT I CAN TELL YOU NO ONE HERE HAS EVER EXPERIENCED BEFORE. WE'RE COMPLETELY CUT OFF. IN WILMINGTON, ALL OF THEIR CRITICAL INFRASTRUCTURE HAS BEEN DEVASTATED.

>> PART OF THE BRIDGE IS STILL STANDING, BUT BOTH ENDS WERE CUT OFF BY RAGING FLOODWATERS.

>> PATRICK LEAHY AND PETER SHUMLIN TOURED THE FLOOD DAMAGE IN BRATTLEBORO.

>> IT TEARS AT YOUR HEART AND SOUL TO SEE THIS.

>> IT'S CUT OFF AT BOTH ENDS. YOU HAVE PEOPLE WHO NEED SUPPLIES.

>> IT'S GOING TO GET A LITTLE BIT BUMPY.

>> Reporter: PETE SER ONE OF THE STRANDED. THIS USED TO BE A ROAD?

>> YUP!

>> Reporter: THESE BOULDERS ARE THE ONLY EVIDENCE A ROAD EVER EXISTED, AND THE ONLY WAY AROUND IS UP VULTURES MOUNTAIN. ALOGGING ROAD WAS CLEARED BY THIS FATHER AND SON. THEY MARKED THE PATH WITH TORN BEDSHEETS. THE RULES NO LONGER SEEM TO MATTER.

>> MY MEDICATION WILL BE SHORT IN A COUPLE OF DAYS.

>> THEY'RE CUT OFF FROM CIVILIZATION -- NO PNE, INTERNET, OR ELECTRICITY. COWS ARE IN TROUBLE. AS WE CROSS INTO THE NEXT COUNTY, WE FIND TOURIST AREAS UNDERWATER. A YOUNG WOMAN WAS SWEPT AWAY IN THE EARLY STAGES OF THE STORM. THERE ARE INCREDIBLE CHALLENGES. AS WE TRAVEL NORTH, UNTHINKABLE IMAGES. SOMEONE WROTE "REST IN PEACE" ON A BRIDGE. THE FINAL RESTING SPOT FOR A CEMETERY NOT SPARED.

>> AND MOST OF THEM ENDED UP GOING OUT WITH THE RIVER.

>> IT'S JUST TOO HARD. THEY'RE STILL WITHOUT POWER, AND THE CLOCK IS TICKING.

>> WHERE DO WE GO? YOU KNOW, DO WE THROW OUR HANDS UP IN THE AIR AND SAY "TO HECK WITH IT?" BUT WE CAN'T. THIS IS OUR LIFE.

>> Reporter: A DEVASTATING REVENUE LOSS HERE. NOW THEY'RE FOCUSING ON THE COWS THAT SURVIVED, TRYING THEIR BEST TO PREVENT HOOF ROT AND UDDER INFECTIONS.

>> OUR MAIN CONCERN IS KEEPING WHAT COWS ALIVE WE HAVE SAFE. WE WEREN'T ABLE TO MILK THEM FOR TWO DAYS BECAUSE WE HAD NO POWER, NO GENERATOR.

>> Reporter: THIS USED TO BE ONE OF THE FARM'S HAY FIELDS. NOW IT'S CAKED IN DIRT AND SAND. THEY MADE THE BEST OF A BAD SITUATION: THEY FOUND A COUPLE OF LAWN CHAIRS THAT HAD WASHED DOWNRIVER, PLOPPED THEM RIGHT HERE IN THE MIDDLE OF THE FIELD, AND DECIDED TO CALL IT THEIR OWN PERSONAL BEACH.

>> YOU CAN'T LIVE HERE. WITH THE MILDEW, THE MOLD WILL SET IN.

>> Reporter: ON THE OTHER SIDE OF TOWN, FOLKS FACE A DIFFERENT PROBLEM. S.

>> THIS IS JUST SO THE LOCALS CAN GET OFF THE MOUNTAIN.

>> Reporter: FLOODING KNOCKED OUT TWO CRITICAL BRIDGES, ISOLATING RESIDENTS. THEY NEEDED ACCESS AND DECIDED TO CREATE THEIR OWN WAY OUT. INTERSTATE 89 NOW HAS AN IMPROVIZED RAMP. THEY'RE CALLING IT IT EXIT 2-B, CALLING IT THE HILLBILLY HIGHWAY.

>> WE PULLED THE POST SO BIGGER RIGS COULD GET IN. MY HOPE WAS TO GET A MILK TRUCK IN HERE.

>> Reporter: FOR NOW THE PARKWAY IS THE EASIEST WAY TO GET OUT OF RUTLAND. THIS THREE-QUARTER-MILE STRETCH WAS COMPLETELY DESTROYED BY FLOODWATERS IN THE WAKE OF IRENE. FLUN STEERS STAFF THE END OF THE TRAIL, DIRECTING HIKERS AND KEEPING A RUNNING TALLY FOR FEMA OF THE MORE THAN 900 PEOPLE WHO TAKE THIS ROUTE TO WORK EVERYDAY. ATV RIDES ARE ALSO AVAILABLE FOR PEOPLE WHO NEED A LITTLE HELP GETTING ACROSS.

>> HOW MANY TRIPS HAVE YOU TAKEN A DAY?

>> IT AVERAGES PROBABLY ABOUT 30 TRIPS AN HOUR.

>> Reporter: JOHN IS THANKFUL TO FINALLY GET BACK TO WORK BUT ADMITS THE TREK IS TOUGH.

>> I'M NOT THE TYPE OF PERSON WHO LIKES TO RELY ON OTHER PEOPLE, SO IT'S BEEN VERY DIFFICULT FOR ME BECAUSE NOW I HAVE TO RELY ON EVERYBODY ELSE TO GET BACK AND FORTH TO WORK.

>> Reporter: ROAD CREWS HAVE ASKED THE TOWN TO SHUT DOWN THIS BRIDGE FOR THURSDAY AND FRIDAY SO THEY CAN BRING IN BIGGER MACHINERY, BUT THAT WILL MEAN ANOTHER FIVE-MILE DETOUR INTO RUTLAND.

>> I'VE HAD TO MAKE MY RIDES AWARE OF THAT. THANKFULLY A FRIEND WHO HAS COORDINATED A BUNCH OF RIDES, PEOPLE WILL OFFER TO HELP ME OUT AND TAKE US IN AND PICK US UP. MY LIFE FLOWS ON IN ENDLESS SONG ABOVE HER LAMENTATION I HEAR THE REAL BUT FAROFF HYMN THAT HAILS A NEW CREATION AMID THE TUMULT AND THE STRIFE I HEAR IT RINGING IT ECHOES IN MY SOUL HOW CAN I KEEP FROM SINGING

>> 2011, CERTAINLY A YEAR TO REMEMBER. FROM ALL OF US HERE AT KPANL

  • Local NewsMore>>

  • Child car seats in the spotlight

    Child car seats in the spotlight

    Monday, September 15 2014 6:59 PM EDT2014-09-15 22:59:59 GMT
    Car crashes are the number one cause of death for children in the United States, which is why making sure children are buckled up correctly is so important -- unfortunately most are not.
    Car crashes are the number one cause of death for children in the United States, which is why making sure children are buckled up correctly is so important -- unfortunately most are not.
  • Franklin County residents focus on lake pollution

    Franklin County residents focus on lake pollution

    Monday, September 15 2014 6:48 PM EDT2014-09-15 22:48:35 GMT
    A proposal to save Lake Champlain's water quality was dead on arrival last February in the state legislature, but residents in Franklin County are renewing their push for legislation to improve the water.
    A proposal to save Lake Champlain's water quality was dead on arrival last February in the state legislature, but residents in Franklin County are renewing their push for legislation to improve the water.
  • Emily Peyton and Dan Feliciano add voices to the debate

    Emily Peyton and Dan Feliciano add voices to the debate

    Monday, September 15 2014 5:29 PM EDT2014-09-15 21:29:49 GMT

    Two other gubernatorial candidates shared the gazebo with Scott Milne and Gov. Peter Shumlin for Saturday's debate.

    Two other gubernatorial candidates shared the gazebo with Scott Milne and Gov. Peter Shumlin for Saturday's debate.

  • FAHC: The wrong bill is in the mail

    FAHC: The wrong bill is in the mail

    Monday, September 15 2014 4:51 PM EDT2014-09-15 20:51:03 GMT
    The medical center confirms that 3,800 people with last names that start with the letters L through Q, errantly received old bills Monday.
    The medical center confirms that 3,800 people with last names that start with the letters L through Q, errantly received old bills Monday.
  • Sterling College launches $2M fundraising challenge

    Sterling College launches $2M fundraising challenge

    A tiny Vermont college that focuses on environmental stewardship is launching a $2 million fundraising challenge.
    A tiny Vermont college that focuses on environmental stewardship is launching a $2 million fundraising challenge.
  • Dump truck rolls over in Berkshire

    Dump truck rolls over in Berkshire

    Monday, September 15 2014 6:06 PM EDT2014-09-15 22:06:37 GMT
    There was a mess in Berkshire Monday when a dump truck rolled over.
    There was a mess in Berkshire Monday when a dump truck rolled over.
  • 25 fastest growing Vermont businesses honored in South Burlington

    25 fastest growing Vermont businesses honored in South Burlington

    Monday, September 15 2014 11:35 PM EDT2014-09-16 03:35:13 GMT
    From world renowned cheese and maple syrup to companies that run entirely on renewable resources Vermont businesses of all kinds continue to flourish. And there are 25 in particular that are amongst the fastest growing businesses in the state.
    From world renowned cheese and maple syrup to companies that run entirely on renewable resources Vermont businesses of all kinds continue to flourish. And there are 25 in particular that are amongst the fastest growing businesses in the state.
  • Fall hearing could determine fate of Vt. GMO labeling law

    Fall hearing could determine fate of Vt. GMO labeling law

    Monday, September 15 2014 6:51 PM EDT2014-09-15 22:51:09 GMT
    A fall hearing could provide the first clue to the fate of the state's recently-passed GMO labeling law. A group of food producers is suing Vermont over the mandated labeling of some products made with genetically engineered crops by 2016. The legal process is expected to take years, but experts say the first ruling could mirror the final ruling.
    A fall hearing could provide the first clue to the fate of the state's recently-passed GMO labeling law. A group of food producers is suing Vermont over the mandated labeling of some products made with genetically engineered crops by 2016. The legal process is expected to take years, but experts say the first ruling could mirror the final ruling.
Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and WCAX. All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.