Acting Governor gets Real Victory - WCAX.COM Local Vermont News, Weather and Sports-

Acting Governor gets Real Victory

Posted: Updated:
BARRE, Vt. -

With Governor Peter Shumlin out of town, Lieutenant Governor Phil Scott took the first victory for a Vermont Acting Governor in state history in the 50-lap Late Model Feature at Barre's Thunder Road on Thursday night, June 20, adding his 28th win to his resume as the track's all time winningest driver. A pair of Milton, VT competitors, Scott Payea and Jean-Paul Cyr, completed the podium.

Barre's own Jim Morris led the early part of the race, holding off attacks from Scott and pole-sitter Blair Bessett until a series of wild cautions mid-race sent cars spinning all over the track. Morris would withstand several restarts before Scott took over, powering to the victory ahead of a mad dash for second place. Payea and Cyr made it ahead of the fray to pick up second and third. Cyr was followed by co-point leader Dave Pembroke in fourth, and "Hurricane" Jamie Fisher in the top five.

Morris, Trampas Demers, Cody Blake, Cris Michaud – who made his first return back to the track after an offseason injury -, and Defending Champion Nick Sweet rounded out the top ten.

Wolcott, VT's Brendan Moodie, Jr., took down his first win of 2013 in the Bond Auto Tiger Sportsman, besting John Lambert and Jeff Bousqet in a 35-lap thriller.

Moodie took over the lead on lap 18 of the feature event, under constant attack from "Double O" Joe Steffen. A lap 27 caution set up a restart with 8 laps to go. Lambert powered past Steffen off the start – with a flapping hood– for second place and Bousqet slid by him to nab third at the line. Jason Allen took home fourth, and Steffen rounded out the top five.

Another Wolcott driver, Jamie Davis took home the victory in the Allen Lumber Street Stock division, holding off point leader Dean Switser, Jr., and "Hot Shot" Bunker Hodgdon who completed the podium.

The race was led early by rookie George Butler, before he suddenly veered into the infield mid-race to hand the lead to former Champion Gary Mullen. Mullen led until an altercation with 2011 Champion Greg Adams sent both cars to the back, handing a restart to Davis and Switser for all the marbles. Davis powered away to the victory, leaving Switser to fend off Hodgdon. Waitsfield, VT's Troy Kingsbury and East Montpelier, VT's Donny Yates finished fourth and fifth respectively.

The Rough Riders made their debut at the "Nation's Site of Excitement," with two 12 lap features to kick off their 8-race schedule. Waitsfield, VT's Paul Dudley survived the door-jamming, paint-swapping event to win with a 1st place finish in segment one and a second-place in segment two. He was followed by Jamie Benneig and Alan Derrington on the podium.

Thunder Road will return to action next Thursday night, June 27 for Fairpoint Communications night. Post time is 6:30pm.

Powered by Frankly
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2017 WCAX. All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, and Terms of Service, and Ad Choices.