Pembroke wins on Independence Day - WCAX.COM Local Vermont News, Weather and Sports-

Pembroke wins on Independence Day

Posted: Updated:
BARRE, Vt. -

Dave Pembroke of Middlesex chased down Brooks Clark in the closing laps of Thursday's Late Model 50-lap main event on Northfield Savings Bank Fireworks Night at Thunder Road to claim his first win of 2013 and the 20th of his career.

Pembroke started 19th on the grid in the VSECU/Lamoille Valley Ford No. 44 and followed Clark to the front in the outside lane in pursuit of leader Ricky Roberts. Clark and Pembroke were 5th and 6th on the final restart on lap 24. Clark took the lead on lap 32. He and Pembroke crossed the line side by side on lap 45.

Roberts stayed strong to claim third. Veteran Joey Laquerre placed 4th, a car-length ahead of 16-year-old Emily Packard.

The second half of the top-10 went to Becker, Derrick O'Donnell, Nick Sweet, Matt White and Trampas Demers.

Pembroke, unofficially took over the point lead with his 20th career win. Former point leader Jean-Paul Cyr struggled from the outset. Cyr pitted early and wound up 18th.

Rookie Cameron Ouellette of Barre survived a late restart to complete a wire-to-wire win, his first career victory, in the Bond Auto Tiger Sportsman feature.

Randy Gonyaw of Barre, who ran in the top five most of the night, finished second four car-lengths back. Josh Demers was a nearby third. Matt Potter and Brendan Moodie, who gained in the low lane on the final restart, were 4th and 5th.

Greg Adams of Hardwick was the Allen Lumber Street Stock winner. Dean Switser of Lyndonville finished second with Nick Pilotte on his bumper for third.

Drivers Ed teacher Paul Dudley of Waitsfield claimed his second straight Rough Rider win. Jamie Benneig and Alan Derrington completed the podium.

Courtesy: Thunder Road

Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and WCAX. All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.