Helliwell, Hoar come up Short at Magic Mile - WCAX.COM Local Vermont News, Weather and Sports-

Helliwell, Hoar come up Short at Magic Mile

Posted: Updated:

Eddie MacDonald of Rowley, Massachusetts claimed his 3rd Invitational win in the 5th Annual Bond Auto ACT Invitational at New Hampshire Motor Speedway on Saturday, September 21. MacDonald pocketed $8,300 for his efforts as he fended off ACT Champions Wayne Helliwell, Jr. and Brian Hoar. MacDonald has previously won the ACT Invitational in 2009 and 2011.

The "Outlaw" MacDonald worked his way through the field from his 26th starting position and seemed to settle in to the top five through the halfway mark. Polesitter Travis Stearns and Quinten Welch swapped the lead over the first dozen laps and two of the three total cautions. Following the second restart, eight-time ACT Champion took the point and battled with Welch until the third and final caution at the halfway point.

On the final restart of the 50-lap event, Helliwell and Hoar broke out to the point with MacDonald in tow. MacDonald took over the lead on lap 35 and held off Helliwell over the final 15 laps. Helliwell could get to his rear bumper, but couldn't find the momentum to make the pass. MacDonald and Helliwell were followed to the line by Hoar, Aaron Fellows and 2010 ACT Invitational winner Joey Polewarczyk, Jr. Tom Carey, Jr., Quinten Welch, Quebec's Jean-François Déry, Nick Sweet and Glen Luce completed the top ten.

The 50-lap event saw a fiery crash on lap four as Matt White took a hard hit on the frontstretch that took four cars out of the event and brought out a red flag. All drivers were alright. The second caution period was brought out on lap 8 as Ontario's Bryan Mercer was slowed with a flat tire. The third and final yellow flag flew for 70-year-old Joey Laquerre as he spun coming out of turn four and made hard contact with the inside wall, ending his day.

The event was completed in 58 minutes and 28 seconds. It saw 8 lead changes among 5 drivers. Eddie MacDonald won by a margin of .758 seconds.

The American Canadian Tour will decide its champion in the Fall Foliage 200 next Saturday, September 28 at Airborne Speedway in Plattsburgh, NY. Wayne Helliwell, Jr. leads the standings over Joey Polewarczyk, Jr. and Jimmy Hebert.

5th Annual Bond Auto ACT Invitational Unofficial Results
New Hampshire Motor Speedway – Loudon, NH
Saturday, September 21, 2013
Pos. (Start) Driver, Hometown, Laps Completed
1. (26) Eddie MacDonald, Rowley, MA, 50 laps

2. (16) Wayne Helliwell, Jr., Dover, NH, 50 laps

3. (15) Brian Hoar, Williston, VT, 50 laps

4. (9) Aaron Fellows, Croyden, NH, 50 laps

5. (22) Joey Polewarczyk, Jr., Hudson, NH, 50 laps

6. (19) Tom Carey, Jr., New Salem, MA, 50 laps

7. (4) Quinten Welch, Lancaster, NH, 50 laps

8. (28) Jean-Francois Dery, Quebec, QC, 50 laps

9. (17) Nick Sweet, Barre, VT, 50 laps

10. (13) Glen Luce, Turner, ME, 50 laps

11. (27) Alex Labbe, St-Albert, QC, 50 laps

12. (7) Ben Lynch, Huntersville, NC, 50 laps

13. (1) Travis Stearns, Auburn, ME, 50 laps

14. (2) Jamie Aube, N. Ferrisburg, VT, 50 laps

15. (20) Jimmy Hebert, Williamstown, VT, 50 laps

16. (11) Guy Caron, Lempster, NH, 50 laps

17. (14) Luke Hinkley, Claremont, NH, 50 laps

18. (21) Ray Parent, Tiverton, RI, 50 laps

19. (39) Brandon Atkins, Ausable Forks, NY, 50 laps

20. (24) Jonathan Bouvrette, Blainville, QC, 50 laps

21. (8) Bryan Mercer, Port Hope, ON, 50 laps

22. (35) Josh Masterson, Bristol, VT, 50 laps

23. (33) Bobby Therrien, Hinesburg, VT, 50 laps

24. (5) Todd Davis, Claremont, NH, 50 laps

25. (25) Shawn Martin, Turner, ME, 50 laps

26. (30) Taylor Martin, Windham, NH, 50 laps

27. (3) Dave Farrington, Jr., Jay, ME, 50 laps

28. (41) Jerry Dawson, Lynnfield, MA, 50 laps

29. (23) Dany Trepanier, St-Edouard, QC, 50 laps

30. (29) John Falconi, Oakham, MA, 50 laps

31. (36) Jimmy Linardy, Somerville, MA, 50 laps

32. (37) Cody Blake, Barre, VT, 50 laps

33. (42) Matt Anderson, Franklin, NH, 50 laps

34. (6) Jamie Fisher, Shelburne, VT, 50 laps

35. (10) Rowland Robinson, Jr., Steuben, ME, 44 laps

36. (18) Joey Laquerre, East Montpelier, VT, 24 laps

37. (12) Sean Kennedy, Dunrobin, ON, 23 laps

38. (40) Ricky Roberts, Washington, VT, 16 laps

39. (34) John Lowinski-Loh, Milford, MA, 12 laps

40. (31) Matt White, Northfield, VT, 4 laps

41. (38) Joey M. Laquerre, East Montpelier, VT, 4 laps

42. (32) Emily Packard, East Montpelier, VT, 4 laps

43. (43) Kyle Welch, Newport, NH, 4 laps

Lap Leaders: Travis Stearns, 1-2; Quinten Welch, 3-4; Stearns, 5; Q. Welch, 6-12; Brian Hoar, 13-17; Q. Welch, 18-25; Wayne Helliwell, Jr., 26; Hoar, 27-34; Eddie MacDonald, 35-50. (8 lead changes among 5 leaders)

Cautions: 3 (Laps 4 (red), 12, 25)

Time of Race:  58 minutes, 28 seconds

Margin of Victory: 0.758 seconds

Courtesy: New Hampshire Motor Speedway

Powered by Frankly
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2017 WCAX. All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, and Terms of Service, and Ad Choices.