Busch arrives at Thunder Road - WCAX.COM Local Vermont News, Weather and Sports-

Busch arrives at Thunder Road

Posted: Updated:
BARRE, Vt. -

The 38th Vermont Governor’s Cup presented by VP Racing Fuels rolls to the line at Barre’s Thunder Road this Thursday, July 13. NASCAR Champion Kyle Busch and Vermont Governor Phil Scott are expected to lead a talented field of Late Model racers going for the victory in one of the biggest races of the year on the high banks.

Las Vegas, Nevada’s Busch will make his first visit to Thunder Road looking to add to a résumé that includes the 2015 Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series Championship, the 2009 Xfinity Series Championship, and hundreds of race wins on tracks across North America. He would be the first NASCAR driver to emerge victorious in an event that has seen stars such as Tony Stewart, Clint Bowyer, and Ken Schrader in the line-up over the years.

One of his biggest challenges may come from Governor Phil Scott. Thunder Road’s all-time winningest Late Model driver added to his legacy last Thursday when he became the nation’s first sitting governor to triumph in a stock car race. Despite a busy schedule, Scott continues to compete as often as he can at the historic track where he has been racing and winning since 1991, and he plans to go for his first Governor’s Cup win this Thursday.

“Thunder Road has been a part of the social fabric of central Vermont, and arguably for all of Vermont and the Northeast, for more than 50 years,” Scott said. “Racing at Thunder Road has been an important part of my life. I’m glad to have gotten a few races in this year while serving as Governor, and I’m looking forward to competing against NASCAR’s Kyle Busch and the entire field at this Thursday’s Governor’s Cup.”

Both Busch and Scott will have strong teams at their disposal. Four-time Vermont Governor’s Cup winner Nick Sweet is putting the finishing touches on the machine that Busch will pilot out of Eric Chase’s Mad Dog Motorsports shop. Scott’s car, as it has been all season, will be fielded by Pete Duto’s FastOne Motorsports with multi-time Thunder Road Champion Derrick O’Donnell serving as crew chief.

Courtesy: Thunder Road media

Powered by Frankly
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2017 WCAX. All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, and Terms of Service, and Ad Choices.