Michaud Claims Governor's Cup - WCAX.COM Local Vermont News, Weather and Sports-

Michaud Claims Governor's Cup

Featured Videos


BARRE, VT - Late Model stock car driver Cris Michaud of Northfield, VT made good on a prediction earlier in the week that he would finally beat Eric Williams for the CARQUEST Vermont Governor's Cup 100 at Thunder Road Int'l Speedbowl in Barre, VT. The pair traded the lead back and forth during an exciting battle in the middle stages of the race before Michaud was able to take over for good on lap 67. 

"I thought I was dead in the water when (Williams) got by me," said Michaud, "but I moved up to the outside where I had been running earlier and the car came back to life. Eric is a good racer and he's looking for his first championship, and I'd like to get another one. It was fun racing with him tonight, and I hope we can race each other for the title the rest of the year." 

Williams, of Hyde Park, VT, was aiming at a record third-straight CARQUEST Vermont Governor's Cup 100 victory. Michaud had finished second to Williams both times.

"It would have been nice to make some history, but you can't win ‘em all," said Williams. "Cris ran a great race, and he gave me a groove to run in, so I gave him a groove. That's what it's all about."

John Donahue of Graniteville, VT drove from 13th starting position in the 24-car field to finish in third place. American- Canadian Tour point leader Scott Payea of Milton, VT made a rare Thunder Road appearance to take fourth place. Rookie Tony Andrews of Middlebury, VT finished fifth. Dave Pembroke, rookie Nick Sweet, Chip Grenier, Rick Thompson, Jr., and Phil Scott completed the unofficial top ten in order.

Brendan Moodie of North Wolcott, VT made the most of a last-ditch effort to win the NAPA Tiger Sportsman 30-lap event. Moodie used lapped traffic to set up a "pick" move on leader Josh Lovely in the final corner of the race, and nipped Lovely at the line for his third career win. Lovely and Lance Allen, both of Barre, VT completed the podium finishers. Shawn Sicard and Brian Delphia rounded out the top five.

Plainfield, VT driver Jason Corliss earned his first Allen Lumber Street Stock win of the year with a late-race pass of leader Garry Bashaw of Lincoln, VT. Bashaw held off Graniteville, VT's Dave LaFleche. Tim Campbell and Lloyd Blakely finished fourth and fifth, respectively.

Travis Hull of Graniteville, VT won the 15-lap Power Shift Online Junkyard Warrior race. Like Moodie and Corliss, Hull's victory came with an exciting last-minute pass. John Prentice, Scott Weston, Kevin Dodge, and Ken Christman completed the unofficial top five in order.

Thunder Road's 49th season of stock car racing continues next Thursday, July 3, with the Pepsi Holiday Fireworks

UNOFFICIAL RESULTS - CARQUEST Vermont Governor's Cup 100 Thunder Road Int'l Speedbowl - Barre, VT Thursday, June 26, 2008

(# - denotes rookie)


Late Model (100 laps)

1. Cris Michaud, Northfield

2. Eric Williams, Hyde Park

3. John Donahue, Graniteville

4. Scott Payea, Milton

5. #Tony Andrews, Middlebury

6. Dave Pembroke, Middlesex

7. #Nick Sweet, Barre

8. Chip Grenier, Graniteville

9. Rick Thompson, Jr., Derby

10. Phil Scott, Montpelier

11. Shawn Fleury, Middlesex

12. Dave Whitcomb, Essex Junction

13. Cal Poulin, Braintree

14. Pete Fecteau, Morrisville

15. Joe Becker, Jeffersonville

16. Jamie Fisher, Shelburne

17. #Matt White, Northfield

18. Dennis Demers, Shelburne

19. Trampas Demers, South Burlington

20. Brooks Clark, Fayston

21. David Chagnon, Colchester

22. Mike Bailey, South Barre

23. Robbie Crouch, Tampa, FL

24. Gary Caron, Colchester

NAPA Tiger Sportsman (30 laps)

1. Brendan Moodie, North Wolcott

2. Josh Lovely, Barre

3. Lance Allen, Barre

4. Shawn Sicard, Barre

5. Brian Delphia, Duxbury

6. #Mike Ziter, Williamstown

7. Pete Ainsworth, Middlesex

8. Matt Potter, Marshfield

9. Tom Therrien, Hinesburg

10. Rick Garand, Middlesex

Allen Lumber Street Stocks (25 laps)

1. Jason Corliss, Plainfield

2. Garry Bashaw, Lincoln

3. Dave LaFleche, Graniteville

4. Tim Campbell, West Topsham

5. Lloyd Blakely, Barre

6. David Allen, North Troy

7. #Mike MacAskill, Williamstown

8. Erik Steel, Barre

9. #Bunker Hodgdon, Hardwick

10. Shawn Powell, Jericho

Power Shift Online Junkyard Warriors (15 laps)

1. Travis Hull, Graniteville

2. John Prentice, Northfield

3. Scott Weston, Berlin

4. Kevin Dodge, Barre

5. Ken Christman, Cabot

6. Chad Brown, Milton

7. Bryan Nykiel, Berlin

8. Jamie Davis, Wolcott

9. Neal Foster, Waterbury

10. Donny Yates, North Montpelier


Powered by Frankly
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2017 WCAX. All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, and Terms of Service, and Ad Choices.