Lawmakers discuss new Congress

New and returning lawmakers will convene at the Capitol on Sunday for the start of the new...
New and returning lawmakers will convene at the Capitol on Sunday for the start of the new session.(Gray Media)
Published: Jan. 3, 2021 at 9:32 AM EST|Updated: Jan. 3, 2021 at 9:50 AM EST
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

WASHINGTON (Gray DC) - Newly elected and reelected representatives and senators are being sworn in to the 117th Congress Sunday.

The swearing-in ceremony happens on Jan. 3 every other year, and it is usually full of pomp and circumstance. It’s a day where lawmakers typically bring their families and take ceremonial pictures with the House speaker and vice president, who is the president of the Senate.

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, however, the Office of the Attending Physician has implemented new procedures this year for the health and safety of those attending. Only first-term members-elect are allowed to bring a guest, and the guests must obtain a negative COVID test before traveling.

The Gray Television Washington News Bureau team caught up with new and returning lawmakers to discuss the swearing-in ceremony and their plans for the term ahead.

Sen. Shelley Moore Capito (R-WV):

Sen. John Hickenlooper (D-CO):

Rep. Bob Good (R-VA):

Rep. Nancy Mace (R-SC):

Sen. Mark Warner (D-VA):

Rep. Buddy Carter (R-GA):

Rep. James Clyburn (D-SC):

Rep. Kat Cammack (R-FL):

Rep. Morgan Griffith (R-VA):

Rep. Al Lawson (D-FL):

Rep. Tom Cole (R-OK):

Rep. Austin Pfluger (R-TX):

Rep. Frank Lucas (R-OK):

Rep. Kevin Brady (R-TX):

Rep. Louie Gohmert (R-TX)

Rep. Lauren Boebert (R-CO):

Rep. Pat Fallon (R-TX):

Rep. Pete Sessions (R-TX):

Rep. Rick Allen (R-GA):

Rep. Don McEachin (D-VA):

Rep. James Comer (R-KY):

Rep. Brett Guthrie (R-KY):

Rep. G.K. Butterfield (D-NC):

Rep. Greg Murphy (R-NC):

Rep. Terri Sewell (D-AL):

Sen. Dan Sullivan (R-AK):

Rep. Kai Kahele (D-HI):

Rep. Barry Moore (R-AL):

Sen. Bill Cassidy (R-LA):

Sen. Roger Marshall (R-KS):

Rep. Mariannette Miller-Meeks (R-IA):

Rep. Tracey Mann (R-KS):

Rep. Ron Estes (R-KS):

Rep. Lisa McClain (R-MI):

Rep. Ashley Hinson (R-IA):

Rep. Jim Hagedorn (R-MN):

Rep. Randy Feenstra (R-IA)

Sen. Cynthia Lummis (R-WY):

Rep. Tom Rice (R-SC):

Copyright 2021 Gray DC. All rights reserved.