Burlington girls end CVU’s 12-year title run, St. Johnsbury’s Thornton-Sherman earns top time in state

Hilltoppers win boys team title on a tiebreaker at state cross country championships
Published: Oct. 31, 2021 at 11:59 AM EDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

THETFORD, Vt. (WCAX) - It was championship Saturday at Thetford Academy for high school cross country in Vermont with a couple new faces and a few familiar ones taking home state titles.

In the Division I girls race, CVU looked to run its streak of state championships to a lucky 13. Burlington had other plans as Rebecca Cunningham finished second along with another Seahorse placing in the Top 5 and two more in the Top 16.

The Seahorses ended the day five points ahead of CVU to bring home their first title since 2002, ending the RedHawks 12-year title run.

BFA’s Loghan Hughes continued to run away with her stellar season, capturing the individual girls title in 19 minutes, 51 seconds.

Harwood’s Ava Thurston claimed her fourth consecutive Division II state title. She finished with the best overall time in the state with 19 minutes, 29 seconds. The Highlanders proved to be one of the best yet again with their third team title in the last four years.

Freshman Estella Laird led the way in Division III, representing the North Branch School in Ripton, as she pulled away for the title winning in 20 minutes, 8 seconds.

Thetford took advantage of running on its home course with Madelyn Durkee finishing second. Three Panthers placed in the Top 10 to help Thetford Academy win its first state title since 1996.

It was a nail-biter in the boys Division I team race. Individually, St. Johnsbury’s Evan Thornton-Sherman crushed the course in a state-best time in 16 minutes, 33 seconds. He was one of two Hilltoppers to finish in the Top 5.

BFA put three in the Top 10 led by Jacob Tremblay’s third-place finish. Both BFA and St. Johnsbury tied after five runners, but the Hilltoppers had the better sixth place finisher, giving them the tiebreaker and their first state title since 1958.

Division II was all about dominance from U-32. The Raiders put five runners in the Top 6. Carson Beard guided the big blue train with a time of 16 minutes, 43 seconds. U-32 earned its sixth straight state title with ease.

There was an even more dominant showing in Division III. The Craftsbury Chargers garnered seven out of the eight top spots. Cormac Leahy powered the Chargers with a winning time of 17 minutes, 7 seconds to deliver back-to-back state titles for Craftsbury.

Copyright 2021 WCAX. All rights reserved.