7 Vermont towns comprise new community broadband group

Image courtesy MGN Online
Image courtesy MGN Online(KMVT)
Published: Apr. 14, 2020 at 4:18 AM EDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

A new broadband group aimed at providing affordable and high-speed internet service to communities in Vermont has officially formed.

The Brattleboro Reformer reports the Deerfield Valley Communications Union District was assembled after seven towns voted to join.

The district came to be as a result of a new state law that allows for two or more towns and cities to create districts for the delivery of communication services and the operation of a facility.

The district is comprised of the town of Halifax, Marlboro, Stratton, Whitingham, Wilmington, Readsboro and Wardsboro.

Joining a district allows the communities to apply for state grants that would help offset costs for internet companies to provide the services.

(Copyright 2020 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed without permission.)